LivAbility Magazine
City of Tempe logo. The T is stylized to resemble the sun behind a building.

by Michelle Stokes

The 29th Annual Mayor’s Disability Awards held at the Tempe Center for the Arts recognized six outstanding individuals in Tempe for their continued commitment to equality.

• Jean Howard – Pride of the City Award
• Victor Carbajal – Aramark – Employer of the Year
• Timothy Stump – Community Service Award
• Stormy Love – Rocket a Go~Go – Architectural Award
• Karla M. Martin – Business Leadership Award
• Chelsea Steffen – Marcos de Niza High School –
Exceptional Educator Award

Nine students were commended as Outstanding Tempe Students:
• Wai Kei Chu (Corona del Sol High School)
• Keyonna Cooley (Compadre Academy)
• Olivia Mendoza (Marcos de Niza High School)
• Steven Smith (Connolly Middle School)
• Jonathan W. Wilson III (Believe I Can Academy)
• Rob Butler (Tempe High School)
• Jose Ortiz (Tempe High School)
• Kayla Sykora (Tempe High School)
• Rafael Arias (Tempe High School)